“Tokyo to New York” with Tom Piercy at Spectrum Female Composers Festival [2018.06.10]

photo by Robert Kirkbride

THOMAS PIERCY, Clarinet & Hichiriki.

SPECTRUM “Female Composers’ Festival”
“Tokyo to New York” – a one-hour concert featuring new music by NYC- and Tokyo-based composers.

Tom and Taka team up again to bring you another “Tokyo to New York” concert.

Miyuki ITO – “Decalage” for solo clarinet (United States Premiere).
Miho SASAKIi – “The Soul of Lights Freeze” for clarinet and piano.
Kumiko TAKAHASHI – “Hyousou” for solo clarinet (World Premiere, clarinet version).
Karen TANAKA – “Techno Etudes” for solo piano
Tomoko UZAWA – “Original Sin of Fallen Angel” for hichiriki and piano.

l’Artiste ordinaire [ Melissa Grey & David Morneau ] – “Biophonic Beats” for hichiriki, gated benjolin, trombone, and live processing (World Premiere)
Katherine HOOVER – “Ayres” for clarinet and piano.
Qi LI – “An Autumn Dusk in the Mountains” (NY Premiere) for clarinet and piano
Nina SINIAKOVA – “Sensu” for clarinet and piano.


June 10th at 7pm.
Tickets: $15.

Spectrum is located at:
70 Flushing Ave, Garage A
Brooklyn, NY 11205
(entrance between Cumberland and Carlton)

F Train: York Street
B/Q/R Train: Dekalb Avenue
G Train: Clinton-Washington Avenues

“Tokyo to New York” celebrates the connections between Tokyo and New York City with a series of concerts in Tokyo and New York. The concerts feature new works composed for Western classical instruments as well as traditional Japanese instruments by Tokyo- and NYC-based composers. The musicians of “Tokyo to New York” have had the opportunity to work with the Japanese and American composers programmed in these concerts, and since 2012, “Tokyo to New York” has performed over 100 world premieres and numerous Japan and United States Premiers. The New York Times selected “Tokyo to New York” concerts as a critics’ concert of the week; NYClassical Review wrote of a “Tokyo to New York” concert as a season highlight; and a review from Lucid Culture Magazine described a “Tokyo to New York” concert as “…a fascinatingly eclectic, virtuosic program of new chamber works.”